Mariam Gviniashvili

New music composer of Georgian origin with an equisite taste for electroacoustics and 3D works.


She works as a sound artist and composer, combining electronics, electroacoustics and 3D sound with visuals, dance and live performance to penetrate deep into the physical and emotional essence of sound and space. Music has followed the artists through her life since early childhood. Growing up in Georgia, she sang and played piano, and gradually found her feet as a composer and visual artist while studying composition at the Norwegian Academy of Music. That explains her diverse and unexpected subject matter – distractions during online meetings, as in her piece DAYDREAMING (2022), the “strange cosmic ballet” (5:4) or the audiovisual REVELATION (2021) or the stereo/ambisonic DECONSTRUCTION (2020, honourable mention at Prix Ars Electronica) reflecting on a virus spreading patterns. Festivals, major venues and radio programmes have presented the artist’s music, including the New York Electroacoustic Music Festival, BEAST FEaST, Transitions at CCRMA, MA/IN, ICMC, Mixtur Festival, BBC Radio, Ars Electronica, Heroines of Sound and Ultima Festival.

Mariam Gviniashvili - concert
Mar 22, 2024 -- 19:00

During the edition of Sanatorium of Sound in 2023, she explored the rhythms inherent in Luigi Russol's Intonarumori instruments with her composition Beat Forge. Already then, rhythmicity provided the basis for her narrative - with which she would ideally fit in with this year's curatorial idea. This time, however, she will present a project called RUINS in the form of an audiovisual concert. A very dense, drone-like composition will sweep through the cinema in a mass of sound during the festival's opening concert.

Aug 12, 2023 -- 18:30

6:30 pm – composition: Mariam Gviniashvili interlude 7 pm – composition: Aleksandra Słyż and Gerard Lebik

Aug 11, 2023 -- 19:45

A special event will be the opening concert at Kino Zdrowie, during which we will hear performances of new compositions commissioned especially for The Orchestra of Futurist Noise Intoners –...